Stephenson Cancer Center Researcher Named Associate Editor for Prestigious Journal

  • Category: News
  • Posted On:
Stephenson Cancer Center Researcher Named Associate Editor for Prestigious Journal

OU Health Stephenson Cancer Center researcher Priyabrata Mukherjee, Ph.D., has been named an associate editor of Science Advances, a journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Science Advances, an online-only, open-access extension of Science magazine, covers fields ranging from computer science and engineering to environmental, life, mathematical, physical and social sciences. Mukherjee will serve in the biomedicine and life science section. Editors oversee the review process of submitted manuscripts and are selected from an international pool of researchers with high levels of achievement and recognition in their fields.

“I am humbled and honored to be a part of this stellar editorial board,” Mukherjee said. “Importantly, this is a recognition for our institution and a reflection of the high quality of research that our faculty members perform here.”

Mukherjeeis a tenured professor of pathology at the OU College of Medicine. He holds the Presbyterian Health Foundation Presidential Professorship and is the Peggy and Charles Stephenson Endowed Chair in Laboratory Cancer Research at Stephenson Cancer Center, the only National Cancer Institute-designated cancer center in the state. He also serves as the associate director for translational research and co-director of the Nanomedicine Program at the cancer center.

Mukherjee’s research is centered at the interface between biology and materials science to address unmet challenges in human diseases. His laboratory is mostly funded by the investigator-initiated research project grants from the National Institutes of Health. He currently has several multimillion-dollar grants from the National Cancer Institute, which provide support for health-related research and development based on the mission of the NIH.

His research has garnered numerous awards, including the Outstanding Achievement Award from the Society of Asian American Scientists in Cancer Research and the Fred G. Silva Award from the OU Department of Pathology. He is also a Tobacco Settlement Endowment Trust Research Scholar and an elected fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering and the National Academy of Inventors.