OU Health Physician Named the NBA Physician of the Year

James Barrett, M.D.

James Barrett, M.D., interim chair of the Department of Family Medicine for OU Health and team physician for the Oklahoma City Thunder, has been named the NBA Physician of the Year for the 2019-2020 NBA season by the National Basketball Athletic Trainer’s Association (NBATA).

The award is nominated and voted on by all NBATA members to honor a team physician who provides outstanding service and exemplary medical care to his team, visiting teams, and the NBA family. The NBATA is an organization of highly trained certified athletic trainers and certified athletic therapists who provide specialized health care and critical support services to the athletes and organizations of the National Basketball Association and the NBA G League.

“This is a great honor and it really shows the amount of teamwork that went on within our group,” said Barrett. “I’d like to thank the NBATA and the Thunder for this recognition. They are great organizations to work with.”

OKC Logo“Dr. Barrett’s selection as the NBA Physician of the Year is well-deserved and highlights OU Health’s mission to lead healthcare. OU Health and the Thunder continue to create synergy that demonstrates our alignment around key, shared values - excellence, commitment, collaboration, community service - and Dr. Barrett embodies these values, both professionally and personally. I’m proud to be associated with Dr. Barrett and congratulate him for this achievement.” – Chuck Spicer, FACHE, president and CEO of OU Health

“Dr. Barrett is a brilliant and dedicated family medicine physician with an extensive background in sports medicine, so it is no surprise that he is being honored as the NBA Physician of the Year. He is especially deserving of such recognition because he combines excellent care with a focus on the safety of each and every Thunder player every time they step onto the court.”  John Zubialde, M.D., executive dean, OU College of Medicine

“We are thrilled for Dr. Barrett’s distinction as NBA Physician of the Year. He brings deep knowledge in sports medicine to the health and safety of professional athletes, and of our community. We are grateful for his leadership with both the OU College of Medicine and the NBA.” – Jason Sanders, M.D., MBA, Senior Vice President and Provost, OU Health Sciences Center