OU-TU School of Community Medicine Offering Chronic Pain Webinar for Professionals

TULSA – An informative webinar on chronic pain therapies being offered by OU-TU School of Community Medicine in conjunction with the James W. Mold Oklahoma Primary Healthcare Improvement Cooperative, Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services and OU Anne and Henry Zarrow School of Social Work.

The webinar, Beyond Pain Pills: Non-Pharmacological Therapies for Chronic Pain, is offered at no cost to participants. Attendance is open to all, however, webinar content is tailored to primary care physicians and other healthcare professionals who work with patients to achieve pain management goals. 

The webinar features professionals with depth of expertise in trauma-induced pain, exploring key areas in which these complementary therapies in the treatment of chronic pain may be effectively incorporated. Presenting faculty members include Kim Coon, Ed.D.; Martina Jelley, M.D., MSPH, FACP; Julie Miller Cribbs, MSW, Ph.D.; and Frances Wen, Ph.D. Daniel Duffy, M.D., MACP, Professor of Medicine, OU-TU, will act as moderator for the webinar. 

Chronic pain results from unresolved bodily illness or injury and from toxic stress and trauma. Patients can learn ways to amplify naturally occurring pain relievers produced by the brain to minimize use of pain medications, particularly opioids. Mindfulness meditation, physical exercise, massage, yoga and relaxation, combined with modification of thoughts and attitudes, enhance these natural pain relievers. These therapies are recognized in the emerging science of trauma-informed care. Webinar participants will learn to:

  • Use simple language to explain changes in the brain caused by physical or emotional trauma.
  • Motivate and educate patients with chronic pain to use methods that enhance natural pain relievers.
  • Enhance patient acceptance of referrals to learn these methods.
  • De-escalate emotionally charged clinical situations.

The webinar will take place at noon, Friday, June 5. Registration is open now at: https://bit.ly/NonPharm