OU College Professor Earns Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award

  • Category: News
  • Posted On:

Melissa and JoLaine holding awardsOklahoma City, Oklahoma – The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy recently honored Melissa Medina, Ed.D., of the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy, for her outstanding achievements and overall impact on pharmacy education and the profession.

Medina is professor and associate dean for assessment and evaluation and teacher preparation and development at the OU College of Pharmacy. She was presented the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Award on July 22, during the opening session at the AACP Annual Meeting in Boston.

The award, named for the late Robert K. Chalmers, former AACP president and distinguished educator, consists of a Steuben glass owl sculpture and a monetary prize. Robert K. Chalmers was a champion regarding the liberalization of pharmacy education and his work helped foster dialogue and change regarding views of pharmacy education and the preparation of future pharmacists.

A faculty member since 2000, Medina has been recognized numerous times for her strengths and accomplishments over a sustained period. She was named an OU Health Sciences Center Presidential Professor for the term of 2012-2015 and in April 2015, received the OU Regents’ Award for Superior Teaching.

On the OU Health Sciences Center campus, Medina serves as director of the Preparing Future Faculty Program, a co-coordinator of the Educational Grand Round series and an instructor of the Faculty Leadership Program. She participated on the campus Teaching Technology Committee for many terms as well as serving as a trainer for Blackboard and D2L platforms.

JoLaine Draugalis, dean of the OU College of Pharmacy, confirmed that Medina “is an innovative and committed educator as well as an incredible asset to the pharmacy profession.” She added, “Many coworkers use descriptors such as creative, engaged, enthusiastic, outstanding and intelligent when describing Dr. Medina, and I concur.” Draugalis was presented with the same award in 1998.

The College of Pharmacy was the first professional program at the University of Oklahoma, and, has had more than 5,300 graduates since 1896. The College offers the Doctor of Pharmacy professional degree program and graduate programs in the Pharmaceutical Sciences leading to the Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy degrees. The University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy is committed to the education of professional and graduate students who, upon graduation, can meet the public need for safe and effective pharmaceutical care.

PHOTO CUTLINE: Melissa Medina, EdD and JoLaine Draugalis, RPh, Ph.D., hold their Chalmers Award Steuben glass owls from AACP.