Selection Process & Jury


Eligible Nominees include individuals, teams of researchers, or research institutions and are nominated solely for the scientific merit of their work. Although preference is given to scientific breakthroughs with direct or obvious clinical applications, all major accomplishments in type 1 or type 2 research are considered by the Selection Jury. Employees of for-profit pharmaceutical or biotechnology companies are not eligible.

Open Call for Letters of Recommendation

Nominations for the Prize are made by members of the Selection Jury and are therefore not open to application. However, Letters of Recommendation for Nominations will be accepted to afford the community at large an opportunity to suggest Nominees for the Prize to the Selection Jury.

Letters of Recommendation for Nominations are provided to the Jurors for consideration. Jurors may review these Letters at their discretion. Any person writing a Letter of Recommendation for Nomination is requested not to make direct contact with Jurors for the purpose of soliciting a recommendation for nominations or selection.

Letters must not exceed 1,000 words. Letters are confidential and only made available to members of the Selection Jury.

The deadline for the Open Call Letters of Recommendation is February 12, 2023. Please email letters to

Selection Jury

Selection Jury members are appointed by Harold Hamm Diabetes Center representatives with priority given to individuals who have served in international capacities in the field of diabetes research such as editors of major diabetes journals or recent leaders of major diabetes-related organizations.

Members of the 2022-2023 Selection Jury

  • Jed Friedman, PhD, Selection Jury Chairperson

  • Steven E. Kahn, MB, ChB

  • Jeffrey Pessin, PhD

  • Maike Sander, MD

  • Randy Seeley, PhD

  • Clay Semenkovich, MD

Members of the 2020-2021 Selection Jury

  • Jed Friedman, PhD, Selection Jury Chairperson
  • David A. D'Alessio, MD
  • David M. Nathan, MD
  • Alvin C. Powers, MD
  • Philipp E. Scherer, PhD
  • Juleen R. Zierath, PhD

Members of the 2018-2019 Selection Jury

  • Steven Chernausek, MD, Selection Jury Chairperson
  • Bruce Buckingham, MD
  • Steven Kahn, MB, ChB
  • George King, MD
  • Jay Skyler, MD, MACP
  • Bernard Thorens, PhD

Members of the 2016-2017 Selection Jury

  • Kenneth Copeland, MD, Selection Jury Chairperson
  • Mark Atkinson, PhD
  • Thomas Danne, MD
  • Vivian Fonseca, MD
  • K. Sreekumaran Nair, MD, PhD
  • Aaron Vinik, MD, PhD

Members of the 2014-2015 Selection Jury

  • Kenneth Copeland, MD, Selection Jury Chairperson
  • Ele Ferrannini, MD
  • Georgeanna Klingensmith, MD
  • Robert Rizza, MD
  • Elizabeth Seaquist, MD
  • Gordon Weir, MD

Members of the 2012-2013 Selection Jury

  • Timothy Lyons, MD, FRCP, Selection Jury Chairperson
  • John Buse, MD, PhD, CDE
  • Edwin Gale, MD
  • Barbara Howard, PhD
  • Paul Robertson, MD
man and girl painting a wall
Explore Supportive Care services for your cancer journey Learn More
Find out if you’re at risk for diabetes Learn More
See what our commitment to ending diabetes in this century means for you Learn More