OU College of Dentistry Faculty Members Inducted into American College of Dentists

  • Category: News
  • Posted On:

OKLAHOMA CITY—Two dentists from the OU College of Dentistry, Paul S. Tiwana, D.D.S., MD, MS, FACS, division head of the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery department, and Phoebe L. Vaughn, D.D.S., director of the Advanced Education in General Dentistry residency, were named Fellows in the American College of Dentists, the oldest major honorary organization for dentists.

American College of Dentists members have exemplified excellence through outstanding leadership and exceptional contribution to dentistry and society. The two, along with seven OU College of Dentistry alumni, were honored at a convocation ceremony at the American College of Dentists annual meeting in San Francisco.

Only about 3.5% of dentists in the United States are chosen as Fellows in the American College of Dentists. Fellowship is bestowed only if the accomplishments of the nominee are truly outstanding end epitomize excellence.

Membership in the American College of Dentists is by invitation only and is based on a proven, confidential, peer-review system that has remained intact since its founding. A Fellow’s credentials may be reflected in professional organizational involvement, dental education, dental research, dental journalism or other areas. Additionally, candidates must be members of the American Dental Association or an equivalent foreign organization if applicable. There is also an ethical component to Fellowship, where the candidate must be of good moral character, and have a reputation for ethical conduct and professional standing that is unquestioned.



The OU College of Dentistry is home to the state’s only doctor of dental surgery program and baccalaureate degree program in dental hygiene. More than 60 percent of Oklahoma’s dentists are graduates of the OU College of Dentistry. The college provides general dental care and specialty care to Oklahomans through student, resident and faculty practice clinics. The OU College of Dentistry has established a reputation of training its students to provide the highest quality of clinical care available.


OU Health — along with its academic partner, the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center — is the state’s only comprehensive academic health system of hospitals, clinics and centers of excellence. With 11,000 employees and more than 1,300 physicians and advanced practice providers, OU Health is home to Oklahoma’s largest physician network with a complete range of specialty care. OU Health serves Oklahoma and the region with the state’s only freestanding children’s hospital, the only National Cancer Institute-Designated Stephenson Cancer Center and Oklahoma’s flagship hospital, which serves as the state’s only Level 1 trauma center. OU Health is the No. 1 ranked hospital system in Oklahoma, and its oncology program at Stephenson Cancer Center and OU Medical Center ranked in the Top 50 in the nation, in the 2019-2020 rankings released by U.S. News & World Report. OU Health was also ranked by U.S. News & World Report as high performing in four specialties: Ophthalmology in partnership with Dean McGee Eye Institute, Colon Surgery, COPD and Congestive Heart Failure. OU Health’s mission is to lead healthcare in patient care, education and research. To learn more, visit oumedicine.com.