Open Accessibility Menu

HHDC Metabolic Research Conference

  • A VIRTUAL lecture series in the style of Grand Rounds
  • Held at noon on the first and third Mondays of each calendar month during the academic year*
  • Presenters include invited guests from outside OU


  • Oct. 5 -- Sean Burgess, Ph.D., UT Southwestern| Mapping Mitochondrial Nutrient Metabolism in the Liver
  • Oct. 19 -- Malcolm Low, M.D., Ph.D., University of Michigan | TBD
  • Nov. 4 -- TBD
  • Nov. 18 -- Kameron Sugino, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center | TBD
  • Dec. 7 -- Melanie Cree-Green, M.D., Ph.D., University of Colorado-Anschutz Medical Campus | Unraveling Metabolic Disease in Adolescent PCOS
  • Dec. 16 -- John Thyfault, Ph.D., F.A.C.S.M., F.T.O.S., KU Medical Center | Hepatic Fitness and Susceptibility for Metabolic Disease
  • Feb. 1 -- Kent Thornburg, Ph.D., Oregon Health and Science University | TBD
  • Feb. 15 -- Franck Mauvais-Jarvis, M.D., Ph.D., Tulane University |TBD
  • March 1 -- Elizabeth Parks, Ph.D., University of Missouri | Development of Therapies for NAFLD
  • March 15 -- TBD
    | TBD
    May 17 -- Xia "Shelley" Lei, M.D., Ph.D., Oklahoma State University | TBD
  • April 5 -- TBD
  • April 19 -- TBD
  • May 3 -- Katie Page, M.D., USC Keck School of Medicine

Past Presenters

Ann-Louise Olson, Ph.D., Edith Kinney Gaylord Foundation Presidential Professor; Vice Chair, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, OUHSC
C. Ronald Kahn, M.D., Chief Academic Officer and Senior Investigator, Joslin Diabetes Center; Mary K.Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Valarie Blue Bird Jernigan, Dr.P.H., M.P.H., Public Health & Health Promotion, OUHSC
Elvira Isganaitis, M.D., M.P.H., Pediatrics/Endocrinology, Harvard Medical School
Cecil Lewis, Ph.D., Anthropology, OU-Norman
Véronique A. Lacombe, D.V.M., Ph.D., Center for Veterinary Health Sciences, OSU-Stillwater
Dharambir Sanghera, Ph.D., Pediatrics/Genetics, OUHSC
Steven D. Chernausek, M.D., CMRI Edith Kinney Gaylord Chair; Professor of Pediatrics, OUHSC
Kevin Short, M.D., CMRI Choctaw Nation Chair; Associate Professor of Pediatrics, OUHSC
Kenneth Humphries, Ph.D., Assistant Member, Aging & Metabolism Research Program, OMRF
Will Holland, Ph.D., Internal Medicine, UT Southwestern Medical Center
Robert Anderson, M.D., Ph.D., Ophthalmology & Cell Biology, Dean McGee Eye Institute
Christina Scifres, M.D., Maternal-Fetal Medicine, Dept. of Obstetrics & Gynecology, OUHSC
Michael Businelle, Ph.D, Oklahoma Tobacco Research Center
Susan Sisson, Ph.D., R.D.N., C.H.E.S., F.A.C.S.M., Dept. of Nutritional Sciences, OUHSC
Darren Lee, Ph.D., Dept. of Ophthalmology, OUHSC
Yusuke Takahashi, Ph.D.,Dept. of Internal Medicine, OUHSC
Steven D. Chernausek, M.D.,CMRI Edith Kinney Gaylord Chair; Department of Pediatrics, OUHSC
Peter Butler, M.D., Dept. of Medicine,Section of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Hypertension, UCLA
Patrick Catalano, M.D., Vice Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Research, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Tufts
Weidong Wang, Ph.D., Dept. of Internal Medicine, OUHSC
Bobby Saunkeah, R.N. & Michael Peercy, M.P.H., Chickasaw Nation Department of Health
Leanne Redman, Ph.D.,Professor, Pennington Biomedical Research Center, Louisiana State University
Peter Arvan, M.D., Ph.D., Chief, Dept. of Metabolism, Endocriniology& Diabetes,University of Michigan
Fida Bacha, M.D., F.A.A.P., Associate Professor, Division of Pediatric Endocrinology and Diabetes, Texas Children's Hospital, Baylor

Watch for more dates to be added soon!
If you are interested in presenting or can suggest a visiting presenter for this conference, please email

The 2019-20 Conference Committee consists of Dr. David Fields (Chair) and Dr. Karen Jonscher.

No cost to attend. For more information or for accommodations on the basis of disability, call 405-271-2824.

*except where noted