Open Accessibility Menu

R. Michael Siatkowski, MD, MBA, Named Chief Executive Officer of Dean McGee Eye Institute and Chair of OU Department of Ophthalmology

  • Category: News
  • Posted On:
R. Michael Siatkowski, MD, MBA, Named Chief Executive Officer of Dean McGee Eye Institute and Chair of OU Department of Ophthalmology

The Dean McGee Eye Institute (DMEI) and University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, have announced the appointment of R. Michael Siatkowski, MD, MBA, as DMEI’s chief executive officer and the Edward L. Gaylord professor and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology within the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine.

Siatkowski assumed these roles on March 1, succeeding Gregory L. Skuta, MD, who had served as CEO and chair since 2009.

“Dr. Siatkowski embodies the level of excellence that is characteristic of our faculty leaders within the OU College of Medicine. A gifted researcher, teacher and clinician, his wealth of experience inspires confidence in the vision OU has for ophthalmology education, research and clinical care,” said John P. Zubialde, MD, Executive Dean, OU College of Medicine. “An esteemed colleague and friend, Dr. Siatkowski is a strong mentor and advocate for students, whose passion for the science of ophthalmology and commitment to superb patient care are evident.”

David Rainbolt, chair of the Dean McGee Eye Institute Board of Directors, said, “Among programs associated with a public university, Dean McGee has consistently ranked in the top 10 nationally in vision research, teaching and patient care. The board understood that if we are to continue at this elite level of performance, we needed to find a CEO who is also nationally renowned. Fortunately, Dr. Siatkowski is such a leader and has the advantage of already being a well-respected member of the Dean McGee team.”

A native of Pennsylvania, Siatkowski graduated from Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, with distinction and is a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. He completed residency training at St. Francis Medical Center, Pittsburgh, in 1991, and completed fellowship training in both neuro-ophthalmology as well as pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami, in 1993.

Siatkowski was a faculty member at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute from 1993 to 1999. He then relocated to Oklahoma and has served in multiple capacities at DMEI/OU College of Medicine and achieved the status of professor with tenure. He is the first ophthalmologist to have been named a David Ross Boyd Professor at the OU College of Medicine. Prior to his appointments as CEO and chair, Siatkowski was the vice chair for academic affairs for the department and institute, and program director of the ophthalmology residency program.

Among his numerous leadership roles, Siatkowski has served as president of the Program Directors Council of the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology, president of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus and vice chair of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education’s Residency Review Committee for Ophthalmology. He is an emeritus director of the American Board of Ophthalmology and has received a Life Achievement Honor Award and three Secretariat Awards from the American Academy of Ophthalmology. Siatkowski also was the recipient of the 2020 Oklahoma Academy of Ophthalmology Distinguished Service Award.

He has received at least eight different teaching awards while in Miami and Oklahoma City, including the OU Regents’ Award for Superior Teaching in 2012, and the AUPO/AAO’s 2020 Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education, which is the highest national honor that can be bestowed on an ophthalmology residency program director. Siatkowski has published over 180 peer-reviewed articles, has received over 100 national and international speaking invitations, and was the recipient of a Presidential Professorship from OU College of Medicine in 2008.

Siatkowski and his wife, Rhea L. Siatkowski, MD, a cornea specialist at Dean McGee, have three teenage children. He is also an accomplished classical pianist.

About the Dean McGee Eye Institute

The Dean McGee Eye Institute is dedicated to serving all Oklahomans and the global community through excellence and leadership in patient care, education, and vision research. It is one of the largest and most respected eye institutes in the United States and houses the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine’s Department of Ophthalmology. Its clinical, research, and training programs are ranked in the top 10 in the nation among public universities. Twenty of the institute’s ophthalmologists are listed in Best Doctors in America and/or Castle Connolly Top Doctors. For more information, visit